board of directors


Diploma of Law; Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

John O’Neill was formerly Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Australian Rugby Union Limited, Chief Executive Officer of Football Federation Australia, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the State Bank of New South Wales, and Chairman of the Australian Wool Exchange Limited.

Mr O’Neill was also formerly a Director of Tabcorp Holdings Limited and Rugby World Cup Limited.

Mr O’Neill was also the inaugural Chairman of Events, New South Wales, which flowed from the independent reviews he conducted into events strategy, convention and exhibition space, and tourism on behalf of the New South Wales Government.


Master of Economics and Commerce; PhD in Finance

Matt Bekier was previously Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of the Company. He was also Chief Financial Officer of Tabcorp Holdings Limited from late 2005 until the demerger of the Company and its controlled entities in June 2011.

Prior to his role at Tabcorp, Mr Bekier held various roles with McKinsey and Company over 14 years. During that time, he focused on building a substantial practice in bothpost-merger management and financial services, working across four continents.

Mr Bekier is currently a member of the Board of the Australasian Gaming Council and an Honorary Adjunct Professor at Macquarie University.


Bachelor of Arts (First Class Honours), Master of Business Administration

Katie Lahey has extensive experience in the retail, tourism and entertainment sectors and previously held chief executive roles in the public and private sectors.

Ms Lahey is currently the Chair of Tourism & Transport Forum and the Executive Chairman Australasia for Korn Ferry International. She is also a member of the board of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra.

Ms Lahey was previously the Chair of Carnival Australia and a member of the boards of David Jones Limited, Australia Council Major Performing Arts, Hills Motorway Limited, Australia Post and Garvan Research Foundation.


Bachelor of Economics (First Class Honours), Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Richard Sheppard has had an extensive executive career in the banking and finance sector including an executive career with Macquarie Group Limited spanning more than 30 years.

Mr Sheppard was previously the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Macquarie Bank Limited and chaired the boards of a number of Macquarie’s listed entities. He has also served as Chairman of the Commonwealth Government’s Financial Sector Advisory Council.

Mr Sheppard is currently the Chairman and a Non-Executive Director of Dexus Property Group and a Non-Executive Director of Snowy Hydro Limited. He is also Treasurer of the Bradman Foundation.


Bachelor of Commerce; Diploma of Advanced Accounting; Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants; Fellow of CPA Australia; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management

Gerard Bradley is currently a Non-Executive Director of Pinnacle Investment Management Group Limited.

Mr Bradley is also the Chairman of Queensland Treasury Corporation and related companies, having served for 14 years as Under Treasurer and Under Secretary of the Queensland Treasury Department. He has extensive experience in public sector finance in both the Queensland and South Australian Treasury Departments.

Mr Bradley has previously served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees at QSuper. His previous non-executive board memberships also include Funds SA, Queensland Investment Corporation, Suncorp (Insurance & Finance), Queensland Water Infrastructure Pty Ltd, and South Bank Corporation.


Doctor of Philosophy (Governance); Master of Laws; Bachelor of Laws; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Sally Pitkin is a Queensland based company director and lawyer with extensive corporate experience and over 20 years’ experience as a non-executive director and board member across a wide range of industries in the private and public sectors.

Dr Pitkin currently holds various board roles, including as a Non-Executive Director of Super Retail Group Limited, IPH Limited and Link Administration Holdings Limited.

Dr Pitkin is the President of the Queensland Division, and a member of the National Board of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also a member of the External Advisory Board of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

Dr Pitkin was previously a Non-Executive Director of Aristocrat Leisure Limited.


Master of Applied Finance; Graduate Diploma in Accounting; Bachelor of Arts; Advanced Management Programme (Harvard Business School, Massachusetts); Member of Institute of Chartered Accountants

Greg Hayes is an experienced executive and director having worked across a range of industries including energy, infrastructure and logistics. Mr Hayes brings to the Board skills and experience in the areas of strategy, finance, mergers and acquisitions, and strategic risk management, in particular in listed companies with global operations. He is currently a director of Incitec Pivot Limited, Precision Group and Aurrum Holdings Pty Ltd.

Mr Hayes was previously Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Brambles Limited, Chief Executive Officer & Group Managing Director of Tenix Pty Ltd, Chief Financial Officer and later interim CEO of the Australian Gaslight Company (AGL), CFO Australia and New Zealand of Westfield Holdings, and Executive General Manager, Finance of Southcorp Limited.

executive team

The Star Entertainment Group has an experienced and specialised management team focused on utilising investments and partnerships to optimise its integrated resort assets.

Back row (from left to right):

John De Angelis, Chief Information Officer Paula Martin, Group General Counsel and Company Secretary Geoff Hogg, Managing Director Queensland Matt Bekier, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Greg Hawkins, Managing Director The Star Sydney Kim Lee, Group Executive Human Resources John Chong, President International Marketing

Seated (from left to right):

Geoff Parmenter, Group Executive Marketing and Corporate Affairs Chad Barton, Chief Financial Officer Paul McWilliams, Chief Risk Officer